Old-Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie

20170105_173402-1

Can you believe we ae already one full week into 2017?!?!?!? Seriously, I do not believe time can fly ay faster! This past week was a different one for us, we started off with family staying for a quick visit, and ended it with catching up the rest of week, and I am kicking this week off with catching up here, on the blog! I said the other day that I cook and bake faster than I type, and that is a serious problem! So I apologize for being a little behind my Instagram this week, and I hate to say, I may do it again, but that’s real life, and I promise I will always do my best to be genuine, mistakes and all (but hopefully not too many).

We had Chicken Pot Pie this past Thursday (seems like forever ago now), and I was able to get the crust recipe posted (check that out HERE) but as amazing as the crust is, you can’t have crust without some filling, so I’m here to share my recipe with you today!

I love this recipe because it’s pretty simple and easy to put together. You can even make everything ahead of time, then roll out the crust, fill it, and pop it in the oven for those nights you don’t have time to make it all at once!

I always start out by making my crust (recipe here), and get that chilling. Once that is in the refrigerator, it’s really entirely up to you when to start making your filling. If I am making it that night, I usually start putting together my filling after the dough has chilled for about an hr.

I start by preheating my oven to 450 degrees. I dice my chicken and cook that in the chicken broth on low heat, along with my seasonings (if you are rushed, you can boil it, but your chicken will not be quite as tender). While that is cooking, I dice up half an onion and saute it in the butter, just until the onions become tender and fragrant and remove from heat.

 

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together flour and milk until smooth. When chicken is cooked, stir in onions, milk mixture, and vegetables, and cook for a few minutes on medium heat, just until thickened.

20170105_164046

While that is heating, roll out pir crust and place in pie plate. Chill until filling is ready.

When filling has thickened, pour into prepared pie crust, top with second crust. Tuck edges under, into sides of pan, and crimp, or shape however you desire!

picsart_01-06-03-19-07

Cut vent into top of crust, and bake for 35 minutes or until golden brown. Allow to sit for approximately 10 min, cute and serve.

 

OLD-FASHIONED CHICKEN POT PIE

Preheat oven to 450.

Ingredients:

Pie Crust Recipe

1-2 lbs of Chicken, diced

2 Cups Chicken Broth

1/2 Tsp Salt (can use more to taste)

Dash Thyme

Dash Rosemary

3 Tbsp Butter

1/2 Onion, diced

1 Cup Milk

1 Cup Flour

16 oz Frozen Mixed Vegetables

Combine chicken, broth, and seasonings in a medium saucepan, and cook on low heat until chicken is cooked through. While chicken cooks, saute onion in butter until fragrant and translucent. Remove from heat.

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together milk and flour. When chicken is cooked, stir in onions and the milk mixture and cook on medium heat, until thickened slightly.

Pour into prepared pie crust. Top with second crust, tuck edges under, and shape as desired. Cut vents in top and cook in preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, or until golden brown.

Allow to sit for 10 minutes, cut and serve. Enjoy!!

20170105_173337

If you make this, or have your own twist, I would LOVE to hear about it! Please leave a comment below, and thanks for stopping by!

Until next time, Jenn ❤

Leave a Reply

