2-Ingredient Egg Noodles

 

noodles

This recipe is so ridiculously simple and easy, I truly and honestly LOVE it. I started out on a search for the best homemade egg noodle recipe out there. I mean up until just a few years ago, women have been making their own pasta, and well a lot still do, and I wanted to learn so badly…. but every recipe was just so many ingredients or so tough that there was just no way. I would try it and it would be okay, the hubby woulfd graciously say it’s alright, but we all knew, it just wasn’t it. Until a couple of months ago, when I found the simplest recipe for egg noodles EVER. Literally just two ingredients. I made them, but it’s one of those things you kinda have to catch on to the consistencies and whatnot, so the first batch wasn’t THAT good. Then on Sunday, I decided to make Beef TIps and Gravy over homemade egg noodles, and I gave that recipe another try, and it turned out AWESOME!!! So now I’m gonna share it with you today…

The original recipe is found HERE, if you would like to check it out.

 

20170108_133614

Before I started making the noodles, I put on a large pot of water to boil, so it is ready about the same time as the noodles. Making the dough is pretty simple, just eggs and flour, and mixing it until its smooth and elastic, but not sticky or too stiff. i mixed mine up in a bowl and when it was ready, i turned it out onto a lightly floured surface.

20170108_134142

Next, I really just rolled and flipped and rolled and flipped the dough, making sure to flour the counter each time, yes ,I even flipped it when it was just a hair smaller than the picture. This is the size I ended with… I don’t have the exact measurements, but it was pretty big! THe dough is pretty thin, because my hubby likes his noodles like the store-bought, and not the thicker-cut you can get some places. I love this recipe because the dough is really easy to roll out and you can really just stop whenever it is a thickness you like!20170108_134712

I used my pizza cutter to cut the noodles longwise and then into noodles, and my dough scraper made it super easy to lift the noodles off the counter, which if you flip the dough and flour the counter quite a few times, should be super easy! Once they are all off the counter, I simply tranferred them to the boiling water, and let them cook for about 10- 15 min until tender, cook times may vary a little, depending on how thick the noodles are.

20170108_141602

They paired very nicely with my Crockpot Beef Tips and Gravy, and a hunk of homemade bread! Sunday Dinner was a hit!

 

2-Ingredient Homemade Egg Noodles

2 Large Egg

2 Egg Yolks

1 1/2 Cups Flour

Put on a large pot of water to boil.

Mix eggs, yolks, and flour together until combined. Knead dough by hand or in a stand mixer until smooth and elastic.

Turn out dough onto a large, well-floured surface. Roll out dough to desired noodle thickness, flipping dough and flouring surface several times, to avoid sticking.

When dough is desired thickness, cut into noodles using a sharp knife or pizza cutter. Loosen from the counter and toss with a little flour to keep from sticking together.

Transfer to boiling water in small handfuls, to avoid clumping, and cook until tender. Drain. Enjoy by themselves or in your favorite recipe.

I would Love to hear about how you made these! Please leave a comment below and let me know!

Leave a Reply

