Protein-Packed Blueberry Banana Bread

 

blueberry-banana-bread

I don’t know how it happened, it was kind of a gradual thing, I think… but now it’s just a habit that I just make something new and fresh for my kiddos breakfast just about every day or every other day. That sounds exhausting, I know… but I really truly LOVE it. However, some days, believe it or not, I. Get. T.I.R.E.D… so I purposely look for something that will be filling and healthy AND might just give us enough for two days so the next day I don’t have to worry about making something first thing in the morning. This last week, in the midst of birthday preparations, this was the answer to my prayers!!

Greek-yogurt gives it a little extra protein power, and between the bananas and blueberries, the only extra sweetener is a little 1/4 cup of honey, perfect for the little ones! I had to slow my boys down or they would have gobbled it all up in one day, and defeated the purpose =), but I was thrilled to find another favorite, and I’m even happier to share it with you!!

 

You can find the orginal recipe HERE!

 

Before I mixed anything together, I preheated my oven to 375, and greased my loaf pan. My next step was to put all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl and whisk together.

Next, I blended all of the wet ingredients together in This blender.

Once the wet ingredients were blended, I set them aside, and tossed the blueberries in the 3 Tbsp flour. I then added the blueberries and flour to the original flour mixture. Finally, I added in the wet ingredients and mixed them just until thoroughly combined.

20170112_083044

Once everything is combined, I poured it into my greased loaf pan, and baked for 1 hour.

20170112_093339-1

The results were DELICIOUS!!

 

 

Protein-Packed Blueberry Banana Bread

1 1/2 Cups Flour

3 Tbsp Flour

1 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder

1/2 Tsp Salt

1/4 Cup Honey

1 Tsp Vanilla

2 Ripe Bananas (mashed)

2 Eggs

3/4 Cups Greek Yogurt (plain, vanilla, or play around with some flavors!)

1 Cup Blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat oven to 375°. Grease loaf pan.

Begin by whisking together the 1 1/2 Cups Flour, baking powder, and salt in a large mixing bowl.

In a separate bowl, mash bananas, then add in the rest of the wet ingredients (or you can skip this, and just blend them all together until smooth).

In a separate, smaller bowl, toss blueberries in the 3 Tbsp flour, then add to the flour mixture. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and mix just until thoroughly combined.

Pour batter into greased loaf pan, and distribute evenly.

Put into preheated oven and bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Transfer hot bread from pan to a cooling rack and let cool for 10 minutes before slicing. Enjoy!!

20170112_093339

If you made this, I would love to hear about it!! Please leave me a comment below and let me know what you think, or follow along if you would love to see more content like this!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

