“Grown-up” Brown Sugar Cinnamon Poptarts

 

poptarts

Have you ever made something that you thought was going to be good, but then it turned out way better than you had really ever thought it was?? That, my friends, and these sweet things here! I made homemade poptarts for the first time about 2 years ago, and they were okay, good maybe, but they just didn’t knock our socks off, so I hadn’t made any more. Yesterday, I decided, after having learned a little more and improving a few techniques, that I would revisit the same recipe as before (with a few minor adjustments). Poptarts are just yummy, in all their unhealthy goodness, but theres just too much dough for me, even with the homemade version I had made, so I rolled the dough out a bit thinner than the original recipe (HERE) calls for. I also used my flaky pie crust recipe (HERE),  and the results honestly blew my mind! I will put just a little more filling in next time, I think, but these are perfect.

I called these grownup poptarts becase I truly could not think of a name (now accepting suggestions!!), but they are definitely enjoyed by all ages! They resemble a poptart, but they are so much better than a pop-tart, more like if a pop-tart and toaster strudel had a baby, and maybe even better than that.

These are so flaky and delicious, my husband’s grandparents, who don’t really like poptarts, couldn’t even resist eating them. They ARE a little time consuming, but they are SO worth it.

 

wp-1484874348661.jpg

I started off with my  All-Butter Pie Crust, making it just as the recipe calls up to when the dough is rolled out. Instead of rolling it only to the pan size, I rolled the dough out to between 1/8 – 1/16 of an inch. You could tell it was thin, but not too thin to handle a little bit. It is very essential to make sure the surface is floured enough, to eliminate sticking with this recipe. After rolling the dough out, I used my pizza cutter to cut the dough into rectangles. I made mine about a 3×5 inch size. I repeated this step with the second half of the pie dough, then chilled the rectangles for about 10 minutes.

wp-1484874359540.jpg

Once the rectangles had chilled about 10 minutes, I pulled out both trays from the refrigerator. I worked one tart at a time,starting by coating a bottom crust, then placing the filling, coating the bottom side of the top ctust, and sealing the crusts together, and moving on to the next one until all of them were filled. My next step was to poke holes into the top of each, using a toothpick, and crimp the edges all the way around each one with a fork.

wp-1484874295599.jpg

After the holes were poked and the edges crimped, I put the tarts back in the refrigerator to chill once again for about 20 minutes while preheating the oven to 350°.I know there is A LOT of chill time in this recipe, but the chill time is essential to keeping those beautiful chunks of butter in the dough from melting until they go in the oven and give you the beautiful flaky layers you want! After chilling, quickly brush the tops with a little more egg wash, and put them straight in the oven to bake for 22-28 min, until tops are a light golden brown.

wp-image-316916777jpg.jpg

Once done baking, allow to cool completely before topping with glaze. The glaze will harden in about 10-15 minutes, but you don’t have to wait until it hardens to enjoy these!!!!

 

 

Grown-Up Poptarts

Crust:

1 recipe The Ultimate, All-Butter, Flaky Pie Crust!

Filling:

1/2 Cup Brown Sugar (light or dark)

2 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Tbsp Flour

egg wash: 1 Large Egg mixed with 2 Tsp Milk

Glaze:

1 Cup Confectioners’ Sugar, sifted

2 Tbsps Milk, plus more as needed

3/4 Tsp Cinnamon

1/2 Tsp Vanilla

For the crust: Prepare Pie Crust  as directed in recipe, through the chill time of 1 hour.

After chilling for 1 hour, remove one disc at a time, and roll to a thickness of 1/8-1/16 inch, and cut into rectangles about 3×5-in. size (or whatever size you may desire). Chill rectangles and repeat above steps with second disc of dough, also chilling those rectangles for about 10 minutes,

Filling: Combine sugar, cinnamon, and flour in a bowl, mixing until thoroughly combined. in a separate bowl, mix egg wash. Remove trays of crust from refrigerator, and work one tart at a time. Brush bottom crust with egg wash, place a heaping teaspoon of filling in center of bottom crust, leaving about 1/4 inch open edge all the way around crust. Brush bottom side of top crust with egg wash, then seal both crusts together. Move on to the next one, repeating steps until all the tarts are finished. Poke holes in the top of each tart with a toothpick, and crimp edges with a fork.

Chill tarts for another 20 minutes, preheating oven to 350° while they chill. When tarts are done chilling, quickly brush tops with egg wash, and bake for 22-28 minutes, until tops are lightly golden brown.

Allow tarts to cool on cookie sheet for 5 min before removing to a cooling rack to cool completely.

While tarts are cooling, whisk together all the glaze ingredients until smooth, and ice tarts when they are completely cool.

Enjoy!!

*I will be playing around with some new fillings as well, and will post those additionally, as they are made!

If you make these sweeties, I would LOVE to hear about it, and/or see pictures!! Please leave a comment below, and tag me on Instagram @impassionedkitchen, #impassionedkitchen.

Thank you so much for stopping by!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

