Skinny Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

 

mini-muffins

I believe I mentioned the other day about how sometimes we moms are just tired in the morning…. this week has been a week of just plain tired mornings, so I have been on the lookout for breakfast items that can last us two mornings, and these muffins just happen to be one of them! I hadn’t seen this recipe before in my Pinterest-surfing, and was pleasantly surprised to see it packed a little extra protein punch with some greek yogurt, and not too sweet with just a touch of honey!

I thought our youngest was going to eat alllllll the foods at the same time, so it will definitely get made again soon! These were super simple and easy, I believe they would freeze extremely well, also, if you like to stop up the freezer ahead of time!

You can find the original recipe HERE

20170117_092725

As always, I started out by preheating my oven and preparing the pan. I chose to use these super cute muffin liners I picked up around Christmas (even if it might be close to 60° here in Oklahoma), so I got those set up in the pan. I did not spray the liners with non-stick spray, but next time I definitely will, as these do not have a lot of butter or oil in them to help them release easier!

Next, I whisked all of the dry ingredients together in a large mixing bowl. I threw all of the wet ingredients in my trusty blender until everything was nice and smooth, as you can see in the picture above (please excuse my feet :}). After the wet ingredients are blended together, I added them into the bowl with the dry ingredients, mixing only until combined. I chose to go with less chocolate chips than the original recipe calls for, and I folded those in.

20170117_093205

After everything was mixed together, I filled my muffin cups almost full and popped them in the oven for about 15 minutes. My batch made a little over 3 dozen mini muffins. These can also be made in a regular sized muffin pan. The bake time would simply need to be changed to 20 – 25 minutes.

20170117_095305

 

Skinny Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

1 1/2 Cups Flour

1 Tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Tsp Salt

3 Medium Bananas (about 1 1/2 Cups mashed)

1/4 Cup Honey

1 Tbsp Vanilla

1 Tsp Cinnamon

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

1 Large Egg

1/2 Cup Greek Yogurt (I used plain nonfat)

1 Tbsp Milk

1/4-1/2 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease (or line with paper liners and spray with cooking spray) a muffin tin or mini-muffin tin, set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Blend wet ingredients together (or mash bananas and mix in remaining wet ingredients) until smooth. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix just until thoroughly combined.

Fold in chocolate chips, and fill muffin tin or liners almost to the top. Bake until a tooothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean, 14-16 min for mini muffins or 20-25 min for full-sized muffins. Allow muffins to cool 5 minutes before removing from pan. Enjoy!

If you make these, I would LOVE to hear about it below in the comments. I would love to see pictures of what you make by tagging @impassionedkitchen or #impassionedkitchen on Instagram!

Thank you so much for stopping by! <3/Jenn!

 

Leave a Reply

