The BEST and EASIEST Homemade Bagels

 

bagels

The very first batch of bagels I have ever made was last week. They were blueberry, and my sweet husband tells me they were good, but they just didn’t have any flavor. To me, they were kind of a flop, maybe I just tried to jump too high for my first time, but I was determined to make bagels!! This week, I decide to regroup and try again, and it was oh so totally worth it!!! This second batch is just a simple plain bagel, but they are just sooooo scrumptious, and it is so entirey satisfying to make something new and kind of be in awe that you made it! The hubby and I enjoyed bacon, egg, and cheese on these babies today, and let me tell you, it was to die for. I was so sad when it was my last bite!!

Now I am here to share what I did with you!! This is not my original recipe, you can find that HERE

20170118_120611

Now normally I would start by preheating my oven so it’s ready, but since this recipe is going to take about 3 hours altogether of prep time, I will wait on that for a while! I began by mixing the sugar, warm water and yeast together in the bowl of my stand mixer, and then I let that sit for about 5 minutes, until the yeast started bubbling up. (If you haven’t worked with yeast befpre, this is to “proof” the yeast, and make sure it is still active before you put in all that work, only to find out that your yeast is dead :(. If your yeast does not start bubbling by about 10 min, just start fresh. Another tip: If you don’t have a thermometer to check the water temp, you can check by sticking your finger in the water. It should be just cool enough that you can leave your finger in there for a little while without feeling burnt!)

After proofing the yeast, I added the flour and salt, and mixed it all together with my paddle attachment just until it started to come together (see middle picture above). I then switched over to my dough hook, set it on low and let it go to town for about 10 min. The resulting dough should look smooth and elastic, like in the last picture (above).

20170118_122044

Here in Oklahoma, it’s either cold, or it’s so warm out we generally have our air on, so I usually warm up the oven just a tad (not too hot that I can’t grab the oven racks with my bare hands). I then switched the dough over to a greased bowl, covered it with a towel, and put it in the slightly warmed oven to rest for and hour and a half.

When that hour and a half was up, I divided the dough into eight balls (I find the easiest way for me is to divide it in hals, then half again), and allow the balls to rest, covered with a towel, for about 30 minutes. I then shaped them into bagelsm which was pretty simple… I placed the ball of dough on the fingers of my left hand, then pushed the  pointer finger of my right hand down through the middle of the ball. Once the center hole is there, just gently work it around in your hands, creating the bagel shape. My first batch wasn’t nearly as pretty, trust me!!

While the dough balls were resting for their 30 minutes, I started preheating my oven to 425°, and brought some water and sugar to a gentle boil in a large skillet. Once all the bagels were formed, I boiled them in the water for 2 minutes on the first side, and 1 minute on the next side, making sure to keep the water at a gentle boil, just above a simmer. As the bagels finished cooking, I placed them on a parchment-lined cookie sheet. When they were all completely done being boiled, I baked them for about 25 minutes, until they were a darker golden brown. They are definitely a little more involved to make, but oh, so worth it!!

wp-1484874369164.jpg

 

The Best and Easiest Homemade Bagels

Dough:

1 1/2 Cups Warm Water (110°F)

1 Tbsp Active Dry Yeast

1 Tbsp Cane Sugar

4 Cups Flour

2 Tsp Salt

Water Bath:

2 Qts (8 Cups) Water

3 Tbsp Cane Sugar

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine yeast, sugar and water. Let stand for 5-10 minutes, until yeast is bubbly. Add in flour and salt, and using a paddle attachment, mix just until dough starts to come together. Switch to dough hook and knead on low for about 10 minutes.Place dough in a greased bowl, cover with a towel, and let rest in a warm place for an hour and a half.

On a floured surface, divide dough into 8 equal parts, and shape into smooth, round balls. Cover with towel, and let rest for an additional 30 minutes.

While dough is resting, preheat oven to 425°, and prepare the water bath by heating water and sugar to a gentle boil. (I used a skillet)

When dough is done resting, shape each ball of dough into a bagel by using your pointer finger to make the center hole, and gently stretching and shaping the dough into a bagel.

When all 8 bagels are shaped transfer the bagels to the gently simmering water (as many as can fit without squishing. I did 2 at a time.) Adjust the heat accordingly to maintain a gentle boil, cooking for 2 minutes on the first side, flip, and cook for 1 more minute.

Using a strainer, slotted spoon, or spatula, transfer bagels from water bath to a parchment-lined cookie sheet. Repeat until all 8 bagels have gone through the water bath.

Bake the bagels for 25 minutes, or until they are browned to your liking.

Allow bagels to cool for 5 minutes on a cooling rack before serving.

*I will be playing with flavors, and will update accordingly.

**I will also attempt to translate this recipe into mini bagels, and will give an update as well!

If you make these, or play with some flavors and variations yourself, I would LOVE to hear about it below!!

Thanks for stopping by!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

