10-Minute No-Bake Granola Bars

wp-1485289752659.jpg

If you have been following along here or on Instagram (@impassionedkitchen), you probably saw the Blueberry Hand Pies from yesterday. As of last night, they were all gone!! I definitely should have made more, but in my defense, I thought 8 would be enough :)! Back to this recipe however, I have been wanting to make granola bars forever, even bought rice cereal and sunflower seed kernels forever ago to make them, and I just never found a recipe that popped out to me!

However, today was different! When Pinterest surfing, I came across THIS recipe, and while I really had NONE of the ingredients, I figured I would just use it for inspiration, and it turned out AWESOME. I think my kids would have eaten the whole pan, if I had let them, but I limited them to 2 each.

I love how much nutrition is packed into these! There is only 6 ingredients, but everything (except the chocolate chips) is healthy, because I am always looking for ways to pack a little extra nutrition in my boys diet!

 

Because these are not cooked at all, you really need to have quick oats to help your body to be able to digest them, as well as allowing them to be chewier. However, I only buy rolled oats, but a few runs through my food choppes (or a food processor) made them into quick oats easy-peasy!

wp-1485289736399.jpg

My next step was just to measure everything into one bowl and mix it well, until everything was thoroughly combined.

wp-1485289742586.jpg

Finally, I lined a small square dish with parchment paper, and pressed the mixture into the pan. Then into the freexer they went for about an hour, and when they came out, I cut them into the size of bar I wanted them to be! I’m storing mine in the refrigerator, and they will probably be gone before I can test freesing them, but I would imagine they would freeze pretty well!

wp-1485289752659.jpg

 

10-Minute No-Bake Granola Bars (original recipe HERE)

2 Cups Quick Oats

1 Cup Peanut Butter

1/4 Cup Chia Seeds

1/4 Cup Sunflower Seed Kernels

1/4 Cup Honey

1/4-1/2 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips

Line an 8×8 square pan with parchment paper.

Mix all ingredients together thoroughly.

Pour into parchment-lined pan, and press down evenly.

Freeze for about 1 hour and cut into bars.

Store in refrigerator.

This recipe is fun and easy to tweak to your own preferences. Perhaps you would prefer dried fruit to the sunflower kernels or want to throw in some flax seed or coconut! I would love to hear about any new combinations you come up with below!

Thank you, as always for stopping by! I am truly humbled that you would enjoy something that I made and created!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

