Banana Pancakes


Anyone else have a rough last week or was it just me? We’ve had a cold going around the house, and I was just pooped! Saturdays are usually lazy days where mom and dad get to sleep in a little (9 counts as sleeping in for this momma ☺️) and we let our boys watch a movie or show and just relax. I always try to make something a little more fancy or special for Saturday since I typically stick with mostly basic breakfasts throughout the week.

This week I decided to make Banana Pancakes, and the recipe I came across was oh so simple and healthy, which is always an added bonus in my book!! I love that these pancakes tasted good, and (other than the chocolate chips) there is no added sugar <3.


I always cook my pancakes on my cast iron griddle my husband got me for Christmas a few years ago, so I started out by heating that up.

Next, I whisked together the dry ingredients in a medium bowl and blended together the bananas (This is a smaller version of the blender I have) and the rest of the wet ingredients until everything was smooth

Once those are mixed well separately, I combined them in the same bowl I whisked the dry ingredients in, and just gave it a few minutes to settle together.Right before putting them on the griddle, I folded in some mini chocolate chips.

I always make smaller pancakes to be a little easier to handle for my kiddos, so I use about 1/2 of a 1/4 cup scoop for each pancake, but you can make yours whatever size you would like.


I cook mine on the first side until their are bubbles coming up all the way to the edge, and the edges are not sticky when you go to slide a spatula under them. I then flip them and let them cook on the second side until the middle is firm when you tap it.

 
Banana Pancakes (original recipe HERE)

2 Med Bananas

1/2 Cup Milk

2 Eggs

1 Cup Flour

1 Tsp Baking Powder

1/2 Tsp Baking Soda

1/4 Mini Chocolate Chips

In a medium bowl, whisk or sift together dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, mash bananas and mix in remaining wet ingredients until smooth (or you blend them all together, like I did).

Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Allow to sit for a few minutes, then fold in mini chocolate chips, if using them.

Make pancakes desired size, and allow to cook on first side until there are bubbles throughout, and edges are not sticky. Flip pancakes, and cook on second side until center is firm.

Enjoy plain or with your favorite syrup!

 

If you made these and loved them, le me know! Maybe you didn’t love them? I would love to hear your input, as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

