Blueberry Hand Pies

wp-1485208092821.jpg

Today is National Pie Day. Woot Woot! With blueberries already on my mind from this mornings Blueberry Dutch Baby, I figured you can’t go wrong with blueberry pie, especially pie you can carry in you hand!

I used my  Pie Crust, and the filling from this recipe. They turned out absolutely beautiful! I don’t think the crust can be beaten in it’s flakiness, and every time I make it, the hunks of butter that I leave together just keep getting bigger and bigger, I can’t help myself, it’s a sickness, I swear! I really loved this recipe because altho some of the juice did run out while they were baking, the filling wasn’t runny at all, and that was my biggest concern in putting these together. There are a few little things I will change when I make these next, but only in how I assemble the pies, nothing of the actual ingredients, because these were perfect!

When making these next time, instead of combining the filling all together and putting it in the crusts, I am going to toss the blueberries in a little flour, and combine the other ingredients separately, ensuring even distribution of the sugar and flour along with the blueberries.

This recipe makes a modestly sweetened pie, so if you like things that are not extremely sweet, you will love it right out of the oven, and if you prefer treats to be a little more on the sweet side, I have added in a simple glaze recipe at the bottom to round it out perfectly for you!! You cannot go wrong with these babies!

 

Blueberry Hand Pies (makes approx 8)

Crust:

1/2 recipe The Ultimate, All-Butter, Flaky Pie Crust!

Egg Wash (1 egg + 2 Tbsp Milk)

Filling: (original recipe here)

1 1/2 Cups Fresh or Frozen Blueberries

2 Tbsp Sugar

1 Tbsp Flour

1/2 Tsp Vanilla

Flour

Glaze: (original recipe here)

1 Cup Powdered Sugar

2 Tbsp Milk

1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract

20170105_163917

For the Crust:

Follow the recipe through chilling the dough. When dough has been chilled and the filling is ready, roll out dough to approx. 1/8-in thickness. Cut into desired size circle [you can use heart or roun cookie cutters to make a top and bottom crust, or do like I did, and use a large circle to fold in half (I used the next to the largest size in this set)].

For the filling:

In a small bowl, combine all of the ingredients except the blueberries and extra flour. In a separate bowl, toss the blueberries and just enough flour to coat them.

Brush the cutout crust shapes with egg wash. Place the appropriate amount of blueberries (1 – 3 Tbsp, depending on size) in center of each circle, and top with 1 Tsp  of the sugar mixture. Fold the crust over the filling and seal edges together, crimping with a fork to ensure they do not come apart during bake time. Cut a slit or tow in the top of the pie for a vent and bake for 15-22 min until tops are lightly golden brown.

wp-1485207373757.jpg

For the glaze:

In a small mixing bowl, whisk together all of the ingredients until smooth. Spread in a thin layer over warm hand pies. Let cool completely.

Enjoy!!

wp-1485208152700.jpg

Do you have a favortie hand pie recipe? I would LOVE to hear about it below!

Thank you for stopping by to read a little story of my day!

<3/Jenn!

One thought on “Blueberry Hand Pies

Leave a Reply

