Foolproof Flaky, Buttery Biscuits

Before you read the rest of this post, I’d like to ask you to just pause for a moment, and close your eyes [well, don’t do that, then you can’t read this :)], and think about that one thing you make that makes you feel giddy every.single.time.  This, my friends, is mine, and I am soooooo excited to share it with you today!!

My adventure into flaky, buttery goodness started with my  All-Butter Pie Crust (if you hevn’t checked it out, you’re missing out!). The first time I made one it was okay, but it wasn’t at it’s fullest potential. Then, I started reading some different recipes and noticing that the key was butter chunks, like HUGE butter chunks, and as soon as I implemented that one trick, I was hooked! It was like a light bulb went off!! I had made a few biscuit recipes, but none of them had settled as THE ONE until this one. The original recipe was good, but when I added my own twists, these literally became to-die-for food,

The first time I made these with my own little twist, my husband was so sweet as he listened to me go on and on about the layers. It just made me so stinking excited that I made these beautiful things with AMAZING layers (that didn’t come from a can), not to mention a crunchy (not burnt) bottom crust that just makes them even more amazing…. can you tell I am in love?!?! I promise you that you will be too! The best thing is that these are seriously soooooooo easy to make! The longest part is preheating the oven, so they’re definitely an easy addition to just about any dinner, and you can’t go wrong with these!

 

wp-1485466219421.jpg

I start these off by preheating my oven and my cast iron skillet together to 425°. I allow them to preheat for about 5 minutes before I even begin to put the biscuits together, so that my butter stays as cold and solid as possible before putting the biscuits into the hot skillet. When I am ready, I begin making the biscuits by first whisking together all of the dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.

The next step is probably one of the key things to assuring the beautiful layers you want! Once the dry ingredients are whisked together, I butter into the flour mixture, only until the chunks are cut into about dime-sized hunks, possibly even a little bigger, as you can see in the above phote. Once the butter is cut in, I add the milk and mix until everything is a cohesize ball, but being careful not to overmix.

Once everything is together, I dump my dough out onto a floured surface and flatten down enough that I can fold it over on top of itself. After folding, I turn the dough 90° , flatten dough again slightly, and fold in half again. I repeat this two more times, until all four sides have been folded over once. I then roll the dough out until it is about a 1-inch thickness.

Once the dough has been rolled out, it is time to cut them out! In the above pictures, I was making them a little bigger than usual to make sandwiches on, so I am using about a 3-in round cookie cutter (the next to the smallest cutter in this set). Using this larger size, I only got 5 biscuits. Usually I use the smallest cutter and I get 8-9 biscuits. After cutting out a biscuit, I take the egdes and turn them into the other edges so that I have no excess dough to roll out again, and continue cutting out biscuits until no dough is left!

wp-1485367179830.jpg

Once the biscuits are cut, all that is left is to cook them! When your oven and skillet are completely preheated, I grease the hot skillet with some extra butter. Next, I put my biscuits in the pan, placing them relatively equal distances around the skillet. The biscuits will bake for 18-20 minutes, until golden brown. When they come out, they can be slathered with some extra butter, or left alone, both ways are delicious!

 

Foolproof Buttery, Flaky Biscuits (original recipe HERE)

2 Cups Flour

1 Tsp Salt

1 Tsp Sugar

1 Tbsp Baking Powder

1 Stick COLD Butter

3/4 Cup +2-3Tbsp Milk

Preheat oven to 425° with cast iton skillet in it.

Whisk together all of the dry ingredients.

Cut the stick of butter into the flour mixture until chunks are about 1/2 inch.

Add milk and stir just until combined completely.

Turn dough out onto floured counter. Flatten slightly, and fold in half, turn 1/4 way around; repeat 3 more times until all four sides have been folded over.

Roll dough out to about 1 inch thickness, Cut into biscuits.

When skillet and oven are preheated, grease skillet well with extra butter and place biscuits in skillet, distibuting equally.

Bake for 18-20 min, top with additional butter, if desired.

wp-1485367251967.jpg

 

These biscuits made awesome chicken sandwiches the other night, and we enjoyed egg sandwiches on the leftovers the next morning!

If you make these or have an awesome biscuit technique of your own, I would love to hear about it in the comments below!!

Thank you for stopping by to read a little tidbit of my life, I hope you enjoyed what you read, and would love to have you follow along (∨∨ button below ∨∨), if you would be so inclined 🙂 Have a great day!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

