Apple Oat Protein Muffins

wp-1485558319144.jpg

Do you know those morning when you wake up and you just know what you want to eat? Those mornings are awesome, because I know what I’m making right off the bat…. this morning was not one of those mornings!

This morning I woke up not wanting to make anything similar in flavor to what the boys had eaten throughout the week. On top of that, grocery day is coming up on monday, so my extras are running a little low, but sometimes that makes for some new things we might not have tried before!

These muffins are kind of that… having been a purveyor of Pinterest for quite some time, my feeds are boring at times, simply because I’ve looked at or made everything that looks good to me already. This morning held a pleasant surprise, however… these yummy muffins! I realllllly try to curb my boys’ sugar intake throughout the week, keeping it to natural sugars only, and these muffins fit the bill perfectly! Not only that, they also get a little extra protein in there with 1 whole cup of greek yogurt, which I love.

These are a tiny bit more involved, with grating the apple in the beginning, but they are smooth sailing from there. I was honetly pleasantly surprised how wuickly these came together! (And yes, I am definitely still channeling some Christmas spirit with my cupcake liners :D)

The original recipe for these muffins can be found HERE

wp-1485558208728.jpg

I started out by first preheating my oven, and put cupcake liners in my muffin pan. Next, I gave the liners a quick coat of nonstick spray (these muffins don’t have any fat in them to keep the liners from sticking to the muffins), and grated up my apple into a small bowl. What you see in the picture above is my feeble attempt at keeping the apple from turning brown (I am out of lemon juice right now). I failed miserably (lol), but the rest of the muffins mix together so quickly, it really isn’t an issue.

Once the apple was grated, I set it aside momentarily. In a medium bowl, I mixed all of the dry ingredients together, and in a smaller bowl, I whisked the grated apple and the rest of the wet ingredients together until smooth. Next, I aded the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mixed them all together until everything was thoroughly combined.

wp-1485558270116.jpg

Once everything was combined, I divided the batter equally between the 12 muffin cups. As you can see, they are pretty full. Even though these muffins have a decent amount of leavening ingredients, the amount of oatmeal present in the batter prevents them from overflowing, so even if yours are even a little fuller than mine, it is ok!

These muffins then get sprinkled with a little extra oatmeal on top, and baked for 20-22 Minutes. I let them cool about 10 minutes before serving, and they were perfect for my babies!

If you make these, I would love to hear about it in the comments below, or tag me in your pictures on Instagram @impassionedkitchen   #impassionedkitchen 🙂

 

Apple Oat Protein Muffins

  • 1 1/4  Cup AP Flour
  • 1 Cup Rolled Oats
  • 1 1/2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 Tsp Cinnamon
  • Pinch Salt
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 Cup Unsweetened Applesauce
  • 2-3 Tbsp Honey
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla
  • 1 Medium Apple (peeled, cored, & grated)
  • Oatmeal

 

Preheat oven to 350° and prepare a muffin pan by greasing the muffins cups or lining them with paper liners and spraying the liners with nonstick spray. Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients except for the additional oatmeal, and mix well.

In a separate, smaller mixing bowl, combine all of the wet ingredients, including the grated apple, and whisk until smooth.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well. Divide batter equally between the 12 mufin cups, filling almost completely full.

Sprinkle top of muffin batter with additional oatmeal, if desired. Bake for 20-22 minutes, or until tops are golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Allow muffins to cool in pan for 10 minutes before serving. If not serving immediately, remove to wire racks to cool completely.

 

wp-1485558284139.jpg

Thank you as always for stopping by to visit my little corner of the internet! I hope you have enjoyed your visit and come again soon!!

<3/Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

