Cinnamon Roll Scones

wp-1485637181215.jpg

Saturday mornings around our house are a little lazy… during the week, our mornings are pretty busy with breakfast, my own housework, as well as doing preschool with our oldest, so Saturday we slow it down just a little bit. This morning was extremely slowwww for me, our kiddos woke me up with their happy playing with each other around 8, so I got them up and set up with a little snack and they were so sweet to play nicely with each other while the rest of me warmed up enough to get up and get moving!

I knew I wanted to make cinnamon scones, but most cinnamon scones call for cinnamon chips, and I truly don’t care for them. You CAN make your own, but those recipes call for corn syrup, and I prefer to not use that in anything. Although the original recipe for these actually calls for cinnamon chips as well, I switched a couple things up and came up with my own that turned out pretty good themselves!

I began making these by first preheating the oven. Next, i whisked the cinnamon for the dough and the milk together and allowed them to sit for a few minutes to infuse the milk with some cinnamon flavor as well. I also mixed up the ingredients for the filling.

My next step was to whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl, as well as to add the rest of the wet ingredients, except for the butter, to the cinnamon milk and mix them together. I then cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the butter chunks are a little larger than the size of a pea. Once the butter is cut into the dry ingredients, I added the wet ingredients to them and mixed until it formed a cohesive ball of dough.

Next, I turned the dough out onto a well-floured counter and pressed it out into a square, approx 9-in x 9-in. Once the dough was flattened out, I took my filling I had previously mixed together and spread it over the dough as evenly as possible. (This step is sometimes a REAL pain for me! My secret is to just smooth it out in small, gentle motions, a little at a time.)

Once the filling is spread over theo dough, it was then time to fold it up! I folded the dough similar to a business letter, one side over the middle and the other side folded over the first side. Once both sides were folded over, I gently manipulated the dough to form a 3″x18″ rectangle.

After the dough is in that 3″x18″ rectangle, it can be cut into 6 3-in squares, and from there you can cut the squares diagonally once, as I did, to make 12 large acones. You can also cut it diagonally a second time in an “X” to make a total of 24 mini scones, or even into strips across, to your preferred thickness. Once the scones were cut, I transferred them to a parchment-lined cookie sheet, and baked them in the preheated oven for 16-18 min, until they were golden brown.

wp-1485637188073.jpg

I allowed my scones to cool for about 10 minutes on the pan. While they were cooling, I mixed up the glaze, and after those 10 minutes, I glazed the scones and served them warm. They were a big hit, and this made enough for us to enjoy them tomorrow as well, the perfect treat before we go to church!

If you make these, I would love to hear about it below, or tag me in your picture on Instagram, @impassionedkitchen, #impassionedkitchen!

 

Cinnamon Roll Scones w/ Cinnamon Glaze (original recipe HERE)

Scones

  • 3/4 Cup Half & Half
  • 1 Tbsp Cinnamon
  • 2 3/4 Cups AP Flour
  • 1/3 Cup Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Baking Powder
  • 3/4 Tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Butter, cold
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 Tsp Vanilla

 

Filling

  • 5 Tbsp Butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup Brown Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp Cinnamon

 

Glaze

  • 1 1/2 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 2 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp Milk

 

Preheat oven to 425°, and grease or line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

Whisk together the milk and 1 tbsp cinnamon; set aside. In a separate bowl, mix together the ingredients for the filling, and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add the eggs and vanilla to the previously mixed cinnamon milk. Cut the cold butter into the flour mixture until chunks are a little larger than a pea. Once the butter is cut in, add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix until dough forms a cohesive ball with no dry flour.

Turn dough out onto a floured surface and press flat into a square, about 9-in x 9-in. Spread filling over the dough. Fold the dough like a business letter, one side over the middle, and the second side over top of the first. Once both sides are folded, gently press and smooth the dough into a long rectangle, measuring about 3-in x 18-in.

Cut dough into 6 3-in squares, then cut each square either diagonally once to make 12 regular-sized scones, diagonally twice in an “X” to make 24 mini scones, or into strips of your preferred width!

Once scones are cut into desired shape, transfer to prepared cookie sheet and bake for 16-20 min until golden brown. Cool on pan.

While scones are cooling, mix together all of the glaze ingredients. Once scones are cool to the touch, top with the glaze and serve.

Enjoy!

 

Thank you, as always for stopping by my little corner! I love sharing what I love to do with you, and I hope you stop again soon!

<3/Jenn

 

Leave a Reply

