Parmesan Garlic Herb Croutons


If I had to pick only 5 things that I have made that are hands down my husband’s favorite, these would be on that list. Something about the homemade bread that they start with and then adding in some infused olive oil and maybe some parmesan… It is a magnificent treat, and he is happy to munch on them all by themselves.


If you have been following along for a little while now, you have seen my sourdough starter, and since it has been mature enough, I have begun playing around with some bread recipes, figuring out what I like best. While none of them have been the perfect loaf that I want to share with you (because you deserve nothing less) they are edible, and palatable! When I decided to make salads for dinner tonight, and I realized that I had bread to make these bad boys, I was so excited!


These croutons are seriously soooooo easy!

The ingredients in this are just a basic estimate, and can easily be played with, and different flavors added in.

Parmesan Garlic Herb Croutons

  • 1/2 loaf of bread, cut into 1 inch squares
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 clove (1/2 Tsp) minced garlic
  • 1/2 Tsp Sea Salt
  • 1/2 Tsp Oregano
  • 1/4 Tsp Basil
  • 1/4 Grated Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a small mixing bowl, combine all of the ingredients except for the bread and cheese; set aside, and let set for 5-10 min to allow the flavors to infuse the oil.

Place cut bread in a large mixing bowl. When oil mixture has set for long enough, strain oil or use a fork to remove the majority of the garlic (unless you desire a stronger garlic flavor), and pour over the bread. Toss the bread for a minute or two until the oil is well distributed. Pour Parmesan cheese over the oiled bread and toss again until the cheese is also well distributed.

Pour out into a single layer on the parchment lined cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-15 min, until golden brown and crunchy. Cool and serve.
These never last long in our house, sometimes not even until dinner time to go on our salads! I hope you enjoy them and have fun playing around with some other spices and variations. As I try out some new ones, I will update appropriately!

As always, I do sincerely appreciate that you took a minute to stop by! I hope you enjoyed your visit and definitely come back again soon! 

Have a wonderful day!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

