Birthday Cake Crumble

img_20170220_131737

Buttery Funfetti crumbles to accent or add-in or enjoy all by themselves! You pick 🙂

I think you will agree with me that that picture is literally just a great big old picture of happiness! I mean, who can hate sprinkles? Such a simple happy food that makes the world a better place, and when we celebrate birthdays here, you better believe we sprinkle ALL the things!

For my youngest’s birthday last month, I made some Birthday Cake Cinnamon Rolls, because Cinnamon Rolls are life for special occasions! Anyways, they were all right…. but I wasn’t truly happy with them because the only recipe that had cake crumbles that weren’t a boxed mix just didn’t meet what I had in mind, so for this birthday I was on a mission to create the perfect Birthday Cake Crumbles for the perfect Birthday Cake Cinnamon Rolls. I do believe, my dear friends, that I have found it! Now I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself, because I won’t make these rolls until tomorrow, but even if they flop… these crumbles are stinking good, and I will definitely be using them again!!

The original recipe comes from The Suburban Soapbox, and is pretty popular. The recipe calls for grapeseed oil, however, and although grapeseed oil is good, I personally had none, so I substituted with butter and well, I think I may eat the whole tray before they get used tomorrow!

Begin by preheating your oven to 300°F and lining a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.

img_20170220_131254Then,  you will quite simply combine all of the dry ingredients together, including the sprinkles and mix well, so that everything is well combined, and the brown sugar is all broken up and well distributed.

img_20170220_131432

Next, you will add in the butter and vanilla and mix on low just until it all comes together in small clumps and there is no loose flour on the bottom.

img_20170220_131737

Lastly, you will dump it all out on the prepared baking sheet, and gently spread out in a flat layer.

Bake for 15 minutes, then remove from the oven and let cool completely.

img_20170220_140151

My end result looks a little funky because I checked on them before they were done and thought they needed broken apart , so that gave them a little bit of a pink hue. They still taste fantastic, and will work great for what I want, but to prevent that from happening, do do what I did. Allow them cook, then cool and after a few minutes, you can separate them/chop them, do what you need to do!

If you make these scrumtious things, I would LOVE to see!! Tag me on Instagram #impassionedkitchen   ❤

 

Funfetti Cake Crumbles

  • 1 Cup Sugar
  • 3 Tbsp Light Brown Sugar
  • 1 1/2 Cups AP Flour
  • 1 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 4 Tbsp Sprinkles
  • 1/2 Cup Butter, melted
  • 2 Tbsp Vanilla

Preheat oven to 300°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, combine all of the dry ingredients and mix well on low.

Add butter and vanilla and mix on low until dough is in small crumbles and there is no loose flour on bottom of bowl.

Gently spread out in a flat layer on prepared baking sheet.

Bake for 15 minutes.

Allow to cool completely, then use as needed or enjoy as a treat themselves.

 

I can’t wait to make these again, they turned out so buttery and delicious, I cannot wait for you to try them!

Thank you for stopping by! I enjoyed having you, and I hope you enjoyed your visit and will come again soon!

<3/Jenn

 

One thought on “Birthday Cake Crumble

Leave a Reply

