Overnight Sourdough Waffles

img_20170220_101834

Allowing the sourdough to do all of the work overnight, these are an easy, healthy breakfast for all ages to enjoy!

Hi there! Happy Monday! This morning definitely felt like a Monday for this momma! I try to kick myself outta bed a little early, before everyone else, but this morning I definitely DID NOT want to! Needless to say, it was a slow moving morning and I was so incredibly thankful I had set these waffles up last night, because I literally just had to throw in a couple eggs, baking soda and my add-ins, andthey were ready to go!

Before you get ready to make these, you definitely need a sourdough starter because that it what makes these so easy! If you haven’t started one yet, you can check out my Journal of a Sourdough Starter for all the details on getting that started. If you’re all ready, let’s just get to the recipe!

The original recipe is from Smart Nutrition, and her post has all kinds of extra info if you would like to check it out, but if you’re like me, you just want to get to making and save that for later :).

img_20170219_220201

Horrible lighting!! (I will update with better pics!)

To start out, mix together the melted butter and milk. Add the milk to the sourdough starter, and to that add the flour, honey and salt. Mix everything together until it is well combined, then cover with a lid or plastic wrap and let sit overnight. You will want to make sure there is lots of extra room in your bowl, mine doubled as it sat! 🙂

img_20170220_083548

The next morning, add in your eggs, vanilla, baking soda, and any extras like cinnamon or chocolate chips! Stir until well combined and cook in your heated waffle iron as directed by the manufacturer!

 

If you make these, I would love to hear about them or see them by tagging me on Instagram #impassionedkitchen.

 

Overnight Sourdough Waffles (Yield: 9-10 Square waffles, may vary based on waffle maker)

  • 1/2 Cup Butter
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 1 Cup Sourdough Starter, stirred down
  • 1 Tsp Salt
  • 1 Tbsp Honey
  • 1 1/2 Cups AP Flour
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/4 Tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Tsp Cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/4 Cup Mini Chocolate Chips (optional)

 

Melt butter and add milk in to warm it up. In a medium bowl with room for batter to double in size, add milk/butter, salt, honey and flour to sourdough starter and mix until well combined. Cover with lid or plastic wrap and let sit overnight at room temperature.

Preheat waffle iron.

Add eggs, baking soda, cinnamon and chocolate chips to batter and mix well.

Cook on heated waffle iron according to manufactures directions.

Enjoy!

img_20170220_101834

I am honestly not quite accustomed to the sourdough taste in waffles myself, but it is growing on me! I may toss in a little extra honey next time, but my children loved these as is, and I will definitely be making them again soon!

Thank you so much for stopping by, the amount of views I have received today has surpassed every other day since I began this blog and I am truly humbled and in awe that so many would be interested in the things I have made. You make this little momma feel very special and I appreciate each and every one of you!

<3/Jenn

Leave a Reply

