Easy-As-Boxed Fudge Brownies

wp-1485558359757.jpg

Towards the end of last year, my children and I had the misfortune of being in a car accident. Thankfully, no one was hurt, and the other driver was deemed at fault. We were able to drive our car away from the scene of the crash, however due to our car being older and most of the damage in the body, the insurance company decided to total our car. 😦  We had been preparing for the possibility, but I can’t lie that I did cry a few tears when they told me that the car that had carried both of our sweet babies home for the first time was no longer going to be a part of our family!!

Long story short, we were blessed to find a fantastic deal on a slightly older SUV, but we went into it knowing we needed to fix xomething in the front wheel. This past week, my dear hubby deemed it unsafe to drive until we got it looked at, and I am so thankful that he did. When the gentlemen that checked it out took it apart, they said they were amazed that our wheel had not already fallen off! God had definitely had his hand on it!

I said all that just to get to these brownies! These brownies were a “thank you” to the gentlemen that fixed out car! They had gone above and beyond, and I could think of no better way to say thank you. In doing so, I came across this recipe that is probably the best one I have found so far! It is so simple and easy… I really would have to say that they are as simple as a boxed mix… and 10x better!

 

wp-1485558345961.jpg

I started as always, by preheating my oven, and lining my 9×13 pan with parchment paper.

Next, I mixed the butter, sugar and vanilla together, just until well combined. Once combined, I added in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after adding each one.

In a separate bowl, I whisked together the flour, cocoa and salt. I added the cocoa mixture to wet ingredients, and mixed them together on the lowest speed until combined, scraping the bowl a few times.

wp-1485558349680.jpg

Once the batter is all mixed together, I poured it into my parchment-lined pan and gently spread it out evenly.

The brownies then baked for 35-40 minutes, until the middle was set and the edges were firm but not too dry.

wp-1485558357060.jpg

Allow brownies to cool completely before cutting, and you should not have such huge cracks as I do 🙂 Cracked or not, they taste fabulous, and I hope you get to try them!!

If you try these out, or put your own spin on them, I would love to hear about it in the comments below, or tag me in your pictures on Instagram @impassionedkitchen,  #impassionedkitchen

 

Easier-than-boxed Fudge Brownies (original recipe HERE)

  • 1 Cup Butter, melted
  • 3 Cups Sugar
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 1/2 Cups AP Flour
  • 1 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Tsp Salt

 

Preheat oven to 350° and grease or line a 9×13 pan with parchment paper.

In the bowl of a stand mixer (or a large mixing bowl), mix together butter, sugar and vanilla. Add in eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each one.

In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa, and salt.

Add cocoa mixture to wet ingredients all at once and mix on low until thoroughly combined, scraping sides of bowl once or twice.

Pour into prepared pan, spreading evenly, and bake for 35-40 minutes, until middle is set and edges are firm, but not burnt.

Allow to cool completely in pan (if you resist a warm, gooey brownie 😀 I know I can’t!)

Enjoy!!

 

Thank you so much for stopping by! Each and every one of your that stops by just to read what I have written makes this girl feel incredibly blessed, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart! I hope you stop again soon!

<3/Jenn

Leave a comment